Christmas Prayer

                                            Birth-of-Jesus-570x449

Dear Father,

I don’t want to miss the true joy of Christmas. I long for the authentic quality of joy that’s an outward expression of an inner experience of Your grace. This Christmas, help me to receive the full measure of Your unqualified love that will result in days bursting with joy. I hear the words of the angel translated with the true meaning: “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, among men in who He is well pleased.”

Now I can repeat the familiar words from John 3:16-17 using the personal pronouns: “You so loved me that You gave Your only begotten Son, that believing in Him, I should not perish but have everlasting life. For You did not send Your Son into the world to condemn me, but that through Him I might be saved.”

My heart leaps. Joy is the ecstasy of heaven for those who know they are loved and forgiven. It’s so much more than happiness that’s dependent on circumstances. Real joy cannot be dampened; it lasts regardless of whatever has happened.

Thank You for giving me down-to-earth joy in Jesus. I don’t’ want to leave your Christmas gift unwrapped. I hear His whisper in my heart: “I came for you, lived for you, died for you, defeated death for you, and am here for you now.” Joy! Sheer joy!

Leave a Reply

