Giddeup

Dear Friends,
 
Recently, I received a direct mail piece that really caught my attention.  It was in strong red and blue coloring.  It
said, “If you ever secretly felt fat, skinny, lazy, compulsive or depressed this letter is for you!”  When I first got this letter, the first thing I thought was which one of you gave them my name?  It said, “Your life can be changed for only $29.95 plus $3 for shipping and handling. The last sentence says, “I guarantee this will work.”  Change your life for $29.95!
 
$29.95?  Who would pay $29.95 for this stuff?  You and I do!  Because we’re looking for anything that will change our
lives, help us get in control and we’re willing to pay the price.
 
Following our “Back To Church” Sunday on September 15th, we’re going to begin a series I’m calling “Breaking
Free” about how to get rid of, how to let go of the hang ups, the hurts, and the habits that mess up your life.

Romans 7:15-16, 18 (Living Bible) “My own behavior baffles me.  For I find myself doing what I really hate, and
not doing what I really want to do!  I often find that I have the desire to do good, but not the power.  I don’t accomplish the good I set out to do, and the evil I don’t really want to do I find I am always doing!”  Can you relate to this?  Paul is saying all the things I don’t want to do I end up doing
and all the things I do want to do I end up not doing.  I want to do what’s right, but I don’t.  I don’t want to do what’s
bad, but I do.  Sometimes we feel like there are two horses pulling in opposite directions in our lives.  Which one
wins? Whichever one we say `Giddeup’ to.
 
There is one statistic that has been constant since Adam and Eve – 100% of us suffer from some kind of addiction. 
We tend to want to categorize these addictions saying that ours isn’t as bad as someone else’s, but we all have an
addiction.  We all have one more thing in common – we fight our addiction and sometimes fail.  Here’s some good news – In September, A.C.C. is saying “Giddeup” to God’s Word, and those who join us will begin celebrating recovery from whatever addiction is holding them hostage.   This is going to be a wonderful time of healing.  You won’t want to miss a single Sunday. 
See you all soon!

Leave a Reply

